Film log #4 Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

Name of Film: Sweeney Todd: The Demon Barber of Fleet Street

IMDb link: http://www.imdb.com/title/tt0408236/?ref_=sr_2

Film Website:  http://www.fanpop.com/clubs/benjamin-barker-sweeney-todd/links/1644369/title/sweeney-todd-movie-website

Director: Tim Burton

The Basic Storyline: The movie is about an unfortunate man Benjamin Barker( Johnny Depp) who was arrested and taken away from his wife and newborn daughter by a crime of which he did nothing illegal at all. He returns to his hometown in London taking the name Sweeney Todd to his true identity. He returns to his old home to find it turned into a run down pie shop. He meets the wretched owner Mrs. Lovett( Helena Bonham Carter) and with her help Benjamin takes up his old job as a barber to seek revenge on the one who sentenced him to a crime he did not commit and tore him away from his wife who is the Judge Turpin( Alan Rickman). Based on a hit Broadway musical.

When and Where did I watch this Film: I watched this at my friend’s apartment on his TV last Friday 2/8/13.  

Why did I choose this Film: My friend and I chose this film because it had a very good story and very good music to it.

What did I like about the film: The twists in the plot was what I mainly liked about it. I really liked the music and the songs portrayed in this film, it worked pretty well with the movie. I also liked the lighting used in the film because it gave a dark aspect to the film which worked because it was a very dark story. 

What did I not like about the Film: I did not like how the blood in the movie looked very fake like it looked more like Kool-aid.

Would I recommend this film: I wouldn’t recommend this film to children. However to any young adult I would recommend this movie to, it has a really good story and great music to it. This movie will just keep a person’s eyes and attention glued to the screen throughout the entire film. 

 

Leave a comment